Another Suffolk University Dance Event: Kizomba Workshop

       

I had heard that it was Caribbean week here at Suffolk, and the April 20th event just happened be a ‘zouk’ workshop. I sprinted to Donahue, right after my 4:00 – 5:15 class. I was technically late, but I know Caribbean folk (because I am one), and there are only a handful of them that are actually on time (I’m typically not one). When I got to the place where the event was originally supposed to be, I saw a different group, and all I could really think was that either one of two things had happened: Either the event had been moved, or I’ve been wrong about Caribbean folk all of my life, I was the only one who was always late to things that I probably shouldn’t be late to, and the workshop had already ended. I decided to head to the fourth floor, the only other place that I could think of that the workshop could possibly be at.

Luckily, when I got there I saw a dj setting up some equipment in the corner of the room, and three unfamiliar faces. I quickly inquired if this was where the dance workshop would be, just to be on the safe side, and was told that it was. I approached one of the unfamiliar faces, a professional looking woman wearing black dance heels, and asked the only question that was on my brain at the moment: “what is zouk?” to which she quickly answered that there had been a mistake, and that today we would actually be learning kizomba. I of course, had heard of kizomba, but I didn’t exactly know what it was either, which was perfect. She pointed me in the direction of the actual overseer of the program, who was a man that looked like he was in either his very late twenties or mid thirties. So I did as I was told, and asked a few questions about what kizomba was all about. Evens Joseph, owner of Ej dance studios, greeted me with a handshake and a charming smile. “Kizomba is a dance from Angola” Joseph said, “it’s a beautiful dance, it’s pretty easy, and smooth and sexy.”

When we got into the dancing, I understood exactly what he had been saying. We ultimately learned a series of foot and hip movements, and when we were paired up with our partners, we were repeatedly told that we needed to be closer to them. When we finally got the steps down, it actually turned out to not be as difficult as I thought it would be. At the end, we were all rewarded with $70.00 worth of lessons at Ej dance studios!

Leave a Reply

